KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 23 April 2010.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Miss S J Carey, Mr D S Daley, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr R J Parry and Mr R Tolputt

OFFICERS: Ms L Lissimore (Head of School Governance), Mr N Morgan (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

4. Minutes

(Item A3)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 12 February 2010 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

5. LEA Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (Item B1)

- (1) The Panel appointed Mrs E Thomas to the Governing Body of Paddock Wood Primary School in preference to Mrs M Vacher. It was agreed that Mrs Vacher should be offered an alternative position at Frittenden CEP School and that (if she accepted) the appointment could be made without further reference to the Panel.
- (2) The Panel agreed to appoint Rev S Brewer to the Governing Body of Ifield School with effect from 1 June 2010.
- (3) The Head of School Governance informed the Panel that the proposed federation of the Westlands School and Woodgrove Primary School in Swale Urban was due to take place on 1 July. The Panel agreed that if the federation did take place and only three nominations were received, the appointments could be made without further reference to the Panel.
- (4) The Panel agreed the proposed appointment of Mrs L Lissimore and Mrs D Bruce from the Additional Governor pool to the Governing Body of Brenchley and Matfield CEP School.
- (5) The Panel noted the following appointments made since the previous meeting under Delegated Powers in consultation with the Chairman:-
 - (a) Mrs R Law Archers Court Maths and Computing College;
 - (b) Mr G Cooke Bell Wood Community Primary School;
 - (c) Mrs P Garrard Dymchurch Primary School; and
 - (d) Mr C Gallagher Dymchurch Primary School.

- (6) The Panel agreed to make all the appointments set out in the Issues Paper in the "Late Submissions" section of the table on Page 11 of the agenda papers.
- (7) RESOLVED that the appointments of local Authority Governors in Primary, Secondary, Special Schools and Pupil Referral Units be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.

6. 21st Century Governance (Oral report) *(Item B2)*

- (1) The Head of School Governance gave a presentation on the implications of the "21st Century Schools" Bill for School Governors. She referred in particular to the partnership aspects of the Bill as well as the new duties for Governors and the strengthened governance model that were proposed.
- (2) RESOLVED that the report be noted and that the Head of School Governance be thanked for her presentation.

APPENDIX (Paragraph 5 of the Minutes refers)

1. PARTNERSHIP: AS1 ASHFORD

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
3893	Phoenix Community Primary School	Mrs E Tweed
2289	Smeeth Community Pprimary School	Mr G Lilley
3743	St Simon of England RCP School	Mrs J Watts
4246	The North School	Miss A Warby

2. PARTNERSHIP: ASHFORD RURAL

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee3144Tenterden CEJ SchoolMrs H Maple

3. PARTNERSHIP: CANTERBURY CITY AND COUNTRY

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
3126	Littlebourne CEP School	Mr C Pope
2607	Parkside Community Primary School	Mrs S Lindgren
7063	St Nicholas' School	Mrs P Tree
2611	St Stephen's Infant School	Mrs S Shave
3749	St Thomas' Catholic Primary School	Mr P Smith

4. PARTNERSHIP: CANTERBURY COASTAL

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2263	Herne Bay Infant School	Mrs J Jolly
2643	Swalecliffe Community Primary School	Mrs A Stone

5. PARTNERSHIP: CRANBROOK AND PADDOCK WOOD

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
3032	Hawkhurst CEP School	Mr R Manning
2127	Paddock Wood Primary school	Mrs E Thomas
3309	Sissinghurst CEP School	Mr C Rice

6. PARTNERSHIP: DARTFORD EAST

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
7066	Milestone School	Mr M Gipon
3915	Manor Community Primary School	Mrs D Tolhurst

7. PARTNERSHIP: DARTFORD WEST

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2066	Maypole Primary School	Rev A Green
5400	The Wilmington Grammar School for Girls	Mrs A Ojo

8. PARTNERSHIP: DEAL AND SANDWICH

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
3173	Kingsdown and Ringwould CEP School	Mr R Walton
2627	Sandwich Junior School	Mr M Taylor
5463	Sandwich Technology School	Mr P Southgate

9. PARTNERSHIP: DOVER

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
3916	Green Park Community Primary School	Lord Graham Hutchison
3169	Guston CEP School	Mr R Coulstock
2309	St Martin's School	Mr D Carey

10. PARTNERSHIP: GRAVESHAM

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
7039	The Ifield School	Mr D Rutherford
2462	Riverview Infant School	Mrs M Lane
3019	Shorne CEP School	Mrs A Tompkins
5210	St Botolph's CEP School	Mrs T Hills
2519	Vigo Village School	Mrs P Shelbrooke

11. PARTNERSHIP: MAIDSTONE 1

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2161	Boughton Monchelsea Primary School	Mr C Trelfer
4523	Maidstone Grammar School for Girls	Mr J Findlay
3073	St Michael's CEI School	Mr N Bassant
5422	Oakwood Park Grammar School	Mr D Harris
4064	The Astor of Hever Community School	Mrs M Bolsin
3092	Yalding St Peter and St Paul CEP School	Mr R Nelson-Gracie

12. PARTNERSHIP: MC2 (MAIDSTONE)

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
7056	Five Acre Wood School	Mr J Baker
2536	Loose Infant School	Mr D Carpenter
2586	Senacre Wood Primary School	Cllr R Hinder
4059	Swadelands School – Specialist School and	Mrs J Whittle
	Sports College	
4059	Swadelands School – Specialist School and	Mr D Johnson
	Sports College	

13. PARTNERSHIP: MALLING

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2188	Plaxtol Primary School	Mrs J Owen
3899	St James the Great Primary and Nursery School	Mrs F Sweeney

14. PARTNERSHIP: SEVENOAKS SOUTH

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
3054	Crockham Hill CEP School	Mr A Netherclift
2133	Halstead Community Primary School	Mrs J Ringrose
2632	Sevenoaks Primary School	Mr T Thake
2632	Sevenoaks Primary School	Mr C Brown
3201	St Lawrence CEP School	Mr R Mitchell

15. PARTNERSHIP: SHEPWAY 1

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
3160	Selstead CEP School	Mr K Nuttall

16. PARTNERSHIP: SHEPWAY RURAL

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
3902	Hythe Bay CEP School	Mrs R Griffiths

17. PARTNERSHIP: SWALE RURAL

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2232	Luddenham School School	Mr R Woodroofe
4242	Abbey School	Mr A Hogarth
3337	Tunstall CE (Aided) School	Mr M Waterworth

18. PARTNERSHIP: SWALE URBAN

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2230	The Federation of Bobbing Village School and	Mr L Chapman
	Iwade Community Primary School	·
2245	The Sheerness West Federation	Mr J Duncan

19. PARTNERSHIP: SWANLEY AND DISTRICT

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
4219	Hextable School	Mr A Jones

20. PARTNERSHIP: THANET 1

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2331	Drapers Mills Primary School	MS D Spilsbury

21. PARTNERSHIP: THANET 2

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2338	Dame Janet Community Junior School	Mr R Queen
3364	Christ Church CEJ School	Mrs V Woodin

22. **PARTNERSHIP: TONBRIDGE**

School **Appointee** Mr M Morrison DCSF No:

Slade Primary School and Attached Unit for 2155

23. **PARTNERSHIP: TUNBRIDGE WELLS**

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2465	Claremont Primary School	Mrs D Bruce
2465	Claremont Primary School	Mr J Scholes
2465	Claremont Primary School	Mrs A Lightbody
2482	Langton Green Primary School	Mrs R Holder
2649	Sherwood Park Community Primary School	Mrs C Sander
3050	St John's CEP School	Mr R Bullock
4045	Tunbridge Wells Grammar School for Boys	Mr M Reidy

24. PUPIL REFERRAL UNITS

DCSF No: **Appointee** PRU Mrs J Birnie (Thanet 1) The Northwood Centre 9008

Management Committee